The NaNo-Novelist’s Song

I am the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist
I’ve information pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
Upon the month November, I am sure to drop a lot of hints
That you will soon delight in joining me for endless writing sprints
Already full of energy as you can see me glowing here
No reason to be fathomed or perceived why I shan’t win this year
Although I will insist on taking measures to avoid going insane
Heard carpal tunnel syndrome can put people through a lot of pain
(Heard carpal tunnel syndrome can put people through a lot of pain!
Heard carpal tunnel syndrome can put people through a lot of pain!
Heard carpal tunnel syndrome can put people through a hella lot of pain!)
I’m very well equipped with music playlists, caffeinated drinks
And any sort of artefact which will be sure to help me think
In short, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
I am the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist
(In short, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
He is the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist)
I know our wayward history, Chris Baty and the OLL
The authors who have written up the pep talks I know all too well
“No Plot, No Problem” is a handbook I have read from back to back
Assures me that impartially, this year of words there’ll be no lack
Padding techniques are something of which I have certainly learned a lot
From loafing though the forums up to taking in an orphaned plot
And though I might procrastinate, I know a bit won’t make me flinch
But…
I do hope writer’s block won’t stop me making it to that last inch!
(He hopes that writer’s block won’t stop him making it to that last inch!
He hopes that writer’s block won’t stop him making it to that last inch!
He hopes that writer’s block won’t stop him making it to that last precious inch!)
Above all else, I shall ensure my wonderful word count to thrive
Removing every hyphen and contraction, turn one word to five
In short, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
I am the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist
(In short, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
He is the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist!)
In fact, when I can keep on writing until I’ve got no more breath
When I can recognise on sight a true travelling shovel of death
When such details as plot holes and clichés I’m planning no time soon
And when I know about the one they’re calling “Mr. Ian Woon”.
When I have learnt what programs have been helping modern writers spree
When I know more of typing than a bureaucratic secretary
In short, when I’ve but mastered each and every writing ‘menity…
You’ll say a better NaNo novelist has never penned a tee!
(You’ll say a better NaNo novelist has never penned a tee!
You’ll say a better NaNo novelist has never penned a tee!
You’ll say a better NaNonovelist has never penned a better tee!)
For my literary savvy, this here spirit so adventury
Could only be traced back one or two years before this century
But still, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
I am the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist!
(But still, in matters pantsing, plotting, word warring and all the rest
He is the very model of a NaNoWriMo novelist!)
…I’m fresh out of ideas for blogging, and the season is almost upon us, so this seemed like an appropriate enough time to post this.
In case you don’t know, you’re supposed to sing it with this tune.
Keep on NaNoing!
About ikerrivercast

Iker Rivercast is a natural born loner with a knack for writing and programming. When he's not sleeping or otherwise putting off being productive, you'll likely find him trying something new with his written work. View all posts by ikerrivercast

One response to “The NaNo-Novelist’s Song

Leave a Reply

