The hidden wonders of the Snowflake Method

The Snowflake Method. If you’re reading this blog, you’ve probably heard about it. You might also know that it’s rather laborious and only works for certain kinds of stories. Bu when it works, it really helps, as I’ve recently discovered.

Now, my NaNo outline up to a couple days ago only contained a premise, a beginning and an end, with nothing in the middle. Seeing how I hadn’t really tried doing all that much to actually try and flesh it out, I said “sure, why not”, and gave myself the task of snowflaking it. It took me a couple hours, but by the end of what I believe was the fourh step or so, I had obtained a far more concrete account of what happens throughout most of the story.

Of course, the snowflake itself is far from finished, but only now have I realised that its main mechanic is basically reassurance and repetition of everything you know, plus working with that to try and figure out everything you don’t know. Rather clever, but as has been said, it only works for certain types of stories.

…I’m afraid this post may end up having to be rather short. That’s really the only thing I can think of that I wanted to write about, and I’m doing this from my iPod anyway, so it’s hardly easy on the fingers. So, assuming that will be all for today, keep on writing, and don’t fear the snowflakes.

About ikerrivercast

Iker Rivercast is a natural born loner with a knack for writing and programming. When he's not sleeping or otherwise putting off being productive, you'll likely find him trying something new with his written work. View all posts by ikerrivercast

Leave a Reply

