Milwordy: Starting at last?

I AM doing Milwordy, aren’t I? I suppose I must be, if I’m making this post.

Well, anyway. For those of you who don’t know, Milwordy is basically the undertaking of writing at least 1 million words in a year. I’ve changed things up a little and decided to write 1.2 million, which basically equates to 100,000 words every month— it’s basically year-round NaNo, but twice as long.

And unlike NaNo, pretty much any piece of writing you choose can count towards your grand total. I plan on using this post, for starters, miserably short as it may be in comparison to the big picture, but whatever. When you do something this big, you take all you can get.

To partake in this herculean task, I for one am going to continue or revamp some unfinished projects from last year— for starters, some of the three or four things I did for NaNo in order to reach 100k (none of which were finished, unfortunately), and some plot bunnies which I’ve been pre-developing on the side. I may even finish one of those stories I need to finally get my other blog properly open.

And between all of this, I’ll be doing some reading. I’ve managed to bring over a sizable amount of my stuff from my previous place, mostly books, and although I’ve read most of these, some of them still demand perusing. So far, I have a goal of 50 books this year, although depending on how things go from here, I may increase it. At the moment, I am working through a volume containing the entirety of Poe’s work, so it’ll certainly be a while before I get that done.

Why did I decide to begin this at a time like this (late)? It may have something to do with that spreadsheet I finally decided to make. I’ve rarely actually taken to writing ‘alone’ before– it was mostly reserved for word wars and times of extreme boredom– but now it’ll be the time to finally develop that properly. Suppose I’ll finally put that 750words thing I have to good use.

Well, it’s a long way to that 1.2 million, but it’s got to be done. I’ll see you around as we make our way there.

About ikerrivercast

Iker Rivercast is a natural born loner with a knack for writing and programming. When he's not sleeping or otherwise putting off being productive, you'll likely find him trying something new with his written work. View all posts by ikerrivercast

Leave a Reply

