A sharp turn at Milwordy

Milwordy? I’ve been doing it. I’ve been doing bad. I made a spreadsheet and everything, but I’m feeling it’s more difficult for me to write now than I ever expected.

I can’t quite put my finger on why, though; I’ve made some outlines, rescued some unfinished projects from months past, but still I feel like my drive has taken a sharp dive. I wrote very little (if at all, memory fails me) in December as well. Needless to say, I am less than happy with these developments, and have been searching for ways to overcome this. I’ve tried evoking some word wars, but I find them to be surprisingly difficult to find in the chatroom these days. I’ve tried writing during break periods at school, but due to their scarcity and a sudden inflow of homework, I’ve had little chance to exercise this. Even then, all that came from that experience was an outline. I’ve also been catching up on some reading— Poe, to be precise—, but this is still less than satisfactory.

Thus, I’ve decided to try my hand at serialising.

Last year, I had a novel nicely planned for NaNo, and I worked on that for most of the first part of the month (earning me a finish-line wordcount), but it got to a point where it would be completely unfeasible for me to move it forward without editing it, and since editing is NaNo heresy, I forced myself to put it away. However, I still had the drive to write, and so I decided to produce some arbitrary projects that could help me fulfill this need. One of them is the story I have chosen for serialisation.

Now, let me tell you a little tale of this tale:

First of all, it came partially  from a rather broad, hypothetical subject matter. Now, I believe I speak for more than a few writers when I say ‘general’ or ‘relevant’ subject matters are not at all uncommon choices when looking for something to write a short story about. I also believe I speak for many people when I say  short stories built upon this kind of thing have a tendency to explode into something absolutely humongous which the writer did not anticipate in the slightest. This is more or less what happened to me, as I never intended for the story in question to be very short in the first place, but as I built more and more of it I realised that to truly tell it for what it is, its entire universe would have to be explored without fail. I won’t say much of the actual plot, but I will say that the setting I created for it allowed for virtually countless possibilities, with hundreds of potential characters available to tell the story of what is happening around them. There are certain parties which are central to the story’s plot, but it is my intention to give at least a little of as many different viewpoints as I can muster.

Long story short, this should give me plenty to work on, given that I finally take it as a way out of the rut I’ve found myself sunk in. Whether or not a separate blog will be required for the results will be told by time, but at the present time it is my intention to disclose all details such as posting schedules, etc. right here. Rest assured, I consider this a promise to anyone who has set eyes upon this post, and I like to think I am not one to broke promises of this character.

Now, then is there anything else you need to know? Oh, yes.

Do not play Tiny Tower. You have been warned.

I will see you all soon!

About ikerrivercast

Iker Rivercast is a natural born loner with a knack for writing and programming. When he's not sleeping or otherwise putting off being productive, you'll likely find him trying something new with his written work. View all posts by ikerrivercast

Leave a Reply

